Grumblings Media

Greatest Wimbledon Champions of All Time - The Men

Wimbledon is the oldest  tennis tournament in the world and is widely regarded as the most prestigious. In this article, we list its greatest male singles champions.
Published on June 27, 2023

Greatest Wimbledon Champions of All Time - The Men
Bjorn Borg

Wimbledon Champions are revered as Wimbledon is the oldest tennis tournament in the world and is widely regarded as the most prestigious. Accordingly, we list its greatest male singles champions.

Greatest Male Wimbledon Champions

  • Andy Murray (2013, 2016)
    Murray, a defensive-minded Wimbledon champ, was one of the Big Four of 2010s men’s tennis. Murray has won Wimbledon twice
  • Arthur Ashe (1975)
    Why is a one-time Wimbledon winner on this list when several men with multiple titles to their names are excluded? Besides his tennis prowess, Ashe was the first black man to win a singles title at Wimbledon.
  • Bjorn Borg (1976-80)
    Borg started his five-year run as Wimbledon King by becoming the youngest male champion of the modern era at 20. Boris Becker, who won Wimbledon at age 17, broke that record in 1985.
  • Boris Becker (1985-86, 1989)
    A pioneer of “power tennis”, featuring an incredibly fast serve and overall impressive athleticism, Becker is the youngest man (at 17) to win the singles title at Wimbledon.
  • Fred Perry (1934-36)
    Younger fans may recognize Fred Perry more for his contributions to the fashion world than his three consecutive Wimbledon titles. However, the British tennis elites considered Perry an upstart during his first Wimbledon title run. Still, back-to-back title defenses over German Gottfried von Cramm went a long way toward his acceptance.

Breaking News!

As long as there are celebrities, Grumblings Media Breaking News will be there to share their major announcements via our platforms!

Catch all our Breaking News segments here!
  • John McEnroe (1981, 1983-84)
    A three-time Wimbledon winner, McEnroe’s 1984 victory was perhaps the highlight of a historic year. McEnroe’s 1984 Wimbledon title, where he lost just one set the entire tournament, was a part of his 82-3 match record. Accordingly, that year’s 96.47% win rate is the highest single-season win rate of the Open Era.
  • Novak Djokovic (2011, 2014-15, 2018-19, 2021-22)
    Currently on a four-year run as Wimbledon champion (COVID canceled Wimbledon in 2020), Djokovic is cementing his place in history. Although second to Roger Federer, he will almost certainly retire as the most-decorated Wimbledon champion since he is only 36. 
  • Pete Sampras (1993-95, 1997-2000)
    Currently tied with Novak Djokovic for the second-most Wimbledon titles (seven). Also, Sampras is the only player to have won every Wimbledon final in which he took part.
  • Roger Federer (2003-07, 2008, 2012, 2017)
    Currently, many fans would consider the recently retired (2022) Federer the greatest Wimbledon champion of all time. Specifically, Federer is a eight-time Wimbledon champion, and is only one of two men in the Open era to win five consecutive titles (the other was Becker).
  • William Renshaw (1881-86, 1989) – William Renshaw shared the all-time male record of seven Wimbledon singles titles with Pete Sampras until 2017 when Roger Federer won his eighth. His six consecutive singles titles are an all-time record (pre-Open Era).


Free For All podcast